We’ve Been on the Run, Driving In the Sun

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

So tonight I was scrolling through Buzzfeed, as I am wont to do, and I came upon this post: “19 Songs From ‘The O.C.’ That Warmed Your Cold, Dead, Heart”. Obviously, as a diehard, “The O.C.” foreverfan, I clicked through it, and I was like, crying by the 3rd song in the list lol. You guys, The O.C. for me is like, one of the building blocks of my person. I don’t even care, I’m gonna say it. That show was F U N D A M E N T A L. It was brilliant! The first season?? Better than gold. Like SUCH great characters and even character development, over the season. Seth and Sandy Cohen, Ryan Atwood, all people I wanted to have in my real life. For varying reasons, but whatever. And of course going back to the Southern California thing, I mean come on. That show was like a surfboard, sunset, and a cocktail all rolled up in a nice little teen drama handbasket. And I KNOWWWWWW she was an idiot but you are fucking fooling yourself if you didn’t think Marissa Cooper was iconic. LEGEND. Okay maybe that’s pushing it but iconic for sure. I think that was the first time I heard the term “it girl” and actually understood what it meant. She was like effortlessly, and annoyingly beautiful. Of course now I watch reruns of the show (or the box set that I own, whatever) and grimace at how thin and dumb she was, but at the time? QUEEN. And I can’t even begin to talk about the shit she wore. Although honestly now that I think about it, I can’t decide if Marissa started trends or was just the unfortunate canvas on which all the worst of new millenium fashion was thrown. Either way, I fucking ate it up. Which FINALLY brings me to this picture lol. I bought a pair of flats a few months ago when I visited my mom in Houston and when I put them on I immediately thought “Marissa Cooper.” Do you guys remember this trend? Pointy ass flats (that were clearly utilized to make sure that Mischa Barton never towered over Benjamin Mackenzie)? Honestly it’s something I should have never picked up because my feet are big as fuck and pointy flats do nothing for them, but at the time they were everything. I remember watching maybe the 3rd or 4th episode of the OC and marissa had on pointy flats, and I IMMEDIATELY dragged my mother to the mall to buy my first pair. Ahhhhh youth. ANYWAY I bought these in Houston and I’m obsessed. They’re um, mohair? Calf hair? Is that a thing? Is it horrible? Let’s go with mohair. They’re mohair, andddddd I’m pretty sure too small but like, what are you gonna do. SO CUTE RIGHT?!

Leave a Reply

